Kibabii University

Best Employees Feted as KIBU Marks 10th Anniversary and End Year Celebrations

Kibabii University held a celebration to mark its 10th Anniversary on Friday 2 December, 2022. The event culminated to the award of top performing members staff for the year 2021/2022. Present during the ceremony was the Chairman of the University Council Dr. Ernest Njoroge Mwangi.

Kibabii University started operations on Monday 1st March 2012 with a team of 21 staff seconded from the mother university, Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology. These were followed by the first batch of 333 students and an additional 35 staff. Today, the number has grown to 8500 students and 430 staff.

The Chairman of Council praised the founding members of staff for the commitment and dedication over the years. He assured of the Council’s commitment to ensuring the University is self-reliant in the provision of quality services and taking care of the welfare of staff as it grows beyond a decade.

“Currently, the Council’s top priority is resource mobilization in the face of dwindling resources from the exchequer. KIBU has a huge collection of top brains that can come up with strategies to help the University generate revenue necessary for not just running the operations but to develop the intellectual and professional capacity of our staff to make them competitive,” he said.

As we generate resources there is also need for optimization of processes, operations and services using the available resources to ensure value for money. This is the only way we can produce graduates who will impact positively to the society,” he added.


Gracing the Staff Awards Ceremony, the Vice Chancellor Prof. Isaac Ipara Odeo illuminated on the Anniversary theme: Stronger together for a resilient Kibabii. As the founding Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ipara took stock of the 10-year journey, counting each year as an opportunity well taken by the members of the University community.

“I wish to commend the best performers for this year for contributing to the smooth running of the University. Your recognition is indeed deserved and enviable. I also laud the Unions under their able leaders for their constructive engagement that has guaranteed continuity of services without disruptions. Let us take stock of our successes but also note the shortfalls in order to focus on how to strengthen Kibabii in the very competitive academic world for the next 10 years,” he said.

In the awards, Prof. Julius Kiprop Maiyo emerged Winner of the Researcher of the Year while the Award for Lecturer of the Year went to the newly appointed Dean of Graduate Studies Dr. Robert Kati. Ms. Millicent Otieno emerged the Employee of the Year in the Administrative category.

Summary of Winners

Researcher of the Year Category

  1. Julius Kiprop Maiyo
  2. John Makokha
  3. Munir Muganda

Lecturer of the Year Category

  1. Robert Kati
  2. Franklin Wabwoba
  3. Rashid Fwamba

Employee of the Year (Administrative)

  1. Millicent Otieno
  2. CPA Dr. Benjamin Oduori
  3. Chrispus Kimingichi



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp