Functions of the University Council
  • Shall administer the property and funds of the University in a manner and for the purpose which shall promote the interest of the University ;
  • Shall receive, on behalf of the University, donations, endowments, gifts, grants or other moneys and make disbursements therefrom to the University or other bodies or persons;
  • Shall provide for the welfare of the staff and students of the University;
  • May enter into association with other universities, university colleges or other institutions of learning, whether within Kenya or otherwise, as the Council may deem necessary and appropriate; and
  • May, after consultation with the Academic Board, make regulations governing the conduct and discipline of students of the University .
Members of the University Council
Council Member

Dr. Ernest Mwangi Njoroge

Ph.D (Clinical Studies), University of Nairobi
MBA (Strategic Management), Africa Nazarene University
MSc (Clinical Studies), University of Nairobi
BVM, University of Nairobi

The University Council

Mr. Hussein Abdi Farah

Dip.(MLT) KMTC,Nairobi
Cert.(MLT) MTC, Kakamega

The University Council

Mr. Francis Asunah

MSc Engineering (Hydrology and Water Resources)
Bsc (Geology)

The University Council

Mr. Vincent Nyabiosi

LL.M (Public Finance and Financial Services Law) University of Nairobi
LL.B (Hons) University of Nairobi
Dip. Law - Kenya School of Law
CPA (K) - Member of ICPAK

The University Council

Mr. Tom Mboya Wambua

Ongoing PhD in Business Administration, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
MBA (Strategic Management), University of Nairobi
BCom (Marketing), University of Nairobi

The University Council

Eng. Mwaka Mungatana

Ongoing PhD in Business Administration (Supply Chain Management), Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
MBA (Business Administration), University of Nairobi
BSc in mechanical Engineering, University of Nairobi

Council Member

Mr Michael Jasper Obonyo
Representing Principal Secretary, The National Treasury

M.A (Communication Studies) University of Nairobi
PGD (Mass Communication) Kenya Institute of Mass Communication (KIMC)
B.A (Hons) University of Nairobi

Council Member

Mr. Luke Shiroya Kundu
Representing Principal Secretary, State Department for University Education and Research, Ministry of Education

Ongoing PhD in Peace and Conflict Management- Masinde Muliro University of Science & Technology (MMUST)
Master Degree in Education Management and Administration –Kenyatta University
B.Ed (Arts) - Moi University

Council Member

VC Prof. Isaac Ipara Odeo

D.Phil (Moi University)
M.Ed (Kenyatta University)
B.Ed (Arts) (UON)